201206 Troop 135 Order of the Arrow

posted Jun 3, 2012, 11:20 AM by Dave Collins   [ updated Jul 15, 2012, 6:22 PM ]
Congrats to the 6 Troop 135 Scouts who participated in Jun 1st through Jun 3rd Order of the Arrow Ordeal / Brotherhood weekend at Camp Sequassen.  

The Order of the Arrow is Scouting's National Honor Society.  
The purpose of the Order of the Arrow is fourfold:  
            • To recognize those Scout campers who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives.  
            • To develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit.  
            • To promote Scout camping.  
            • To crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others.  
Scouts are elected to the Order by their fellow unit members, following approval by the Scoutmaster or Varsity team Coach. To become a member, a youth must be a registered member of a Boy Scout troop or Varsity Scout team and hold First Class rank. The youth must have experienced fifteen days and nights of Boy Scout camping during the two-year period prior to the election. The fifteen days and nights must include one, but no more than one, long-term camp consisting of six consecutive days and five nights of resident camping, approved and under the auspices and standards of the Boy Scouts of America. The balance of the camping must be overnight, weekend, or other short-term camps. 


The induction ceremony, called the Ordeal, is the first step toward full membership. During the experience, candidates maintain silence, receive small amounts of food, work on camp improvement projects, and are required to sleep alone, apart from other campers. The entire experience is designed to teach significant values. 


Brotherhood Membership

After 10 months of service and fulfilling certain requirements, a member may take part in the Brotherhood ceremony, which places further emphasis on the ideals of Scouting and the Order. Completion of this ceremony signifies full membership in the OA. 


Vigil Honor

After two years of service as a Brotherhood member, and with the approval of the national Order of the Arrow Committee, a Scout may be recognized with the Vigil Honor for outstanding service to Scouting, his lodge, and the community. This honor is bestowed by special selection and is limited to one person for every 50 members registered with the lodge each year.